Rust: The Novel Book Review @corbinbernsen

September 15, 2015

Emmy® Award Nominee Corbin Bernsen to Release Debut Novel Based on His Film, Rust

images

Pelican Book Group brings the movie-to-book adaptation to readers this fall

AZTEC, N.M.—Pelican Book Group has announced the signing of Emmy® Award and Golden Globe Award® nominee, Corbin Bernsen to a publishing agreement. The publisher will bring Rust: The Novel, to readers October 15, 2015. The book is an adaptation of Bernsen’s 2010 feature film Rust in which Bernsen played the main character as well as served as writer and director.

“I really found my voice in that film,” Bernsen says. “I was really looking for a greater meaning, a greater purpose, in life…to be able to expand on that in a novel just became an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.”

Ever Since Georges Méliés adapted Jules Verne’s From the Earth to the Moon in 1902, books have regularly been adapted into movies. The reverse—movies into books—is a less common occurrence, but “makes sense when the characters and plot can be fleshed out to create a compelling novel,” according to Editor-in-Chief for Pelican, Nicola Martinez.

“The book holds such a relatable message about faith and family. We are thrilled to publish Rust,” says Martinez.

 

About the Book

TITLE: Rust

AUTHOR: Corbin Bernsen

ISBN:  Electronic 978-1-61116-510-4

            Paperback 978-1-61116-511-1

RELEASE DATE: October 15, 2015

Rust Cover

Rust: The Novel is the plight of one pastor’s crisis of faith and the struggle to save his friend’s life and restore hope to a floundering community. Readers will be getting a “better, fuller, richer story in the novel,” says Bernsen. “I was able to expand more intelligently, more interestingly, on some of the original themes and concepts in the film.”

Fans will be able to enjoy Rust: The Novel in both softcover and e-book formats. For more information about the forthcoming novel and Bernsen, visit http://pelicanbookgroup.com/rustnovel.

 

Book Trailer

 

Book Review

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of Rust: The Novel from author Corbin Bernsen in exchange for an honest review.

It was my pleasure to read Rust: The Novel and I found it fascinating to journey with Pastor James Moore as he struggles with his faith, returns home to find his family still fractured from the loss of his mother years earlier, and his hometown inundated with the stress of keeping the secret surrounding a recent arson and murder.

James’ rationale for walking away from the ministry isn’t presented but the story opens with a heart-felt plea from him to God that touched my heart very deeply.

“I love you. No less than the day I came to know you, but if you refuse to be here with me, speak to me, then I have no choice but to walk away.” (Page 10).

The anguish of feeling that God is not hearing his plea is very obvious as the story progresses and continues to assail James throughout the novel. His loss of faith is the main thread that pulls all the subplots together.

Rust: The Novel is about faith, about family, about community and written with an undercurrent of mystery as well. How was the fire at the Pearce farmhouse, which killed the entire family, connected to his former friend, Travis, and why was this tragedy having such a profound effect on the town?

“She turned haunted eyes on him. Eyes that had witnessed something horrific, something almost worse than losing her boyfriend to suicide.” (Page 175).

Can James find the answers to the myriad questions returning home has brought? Does he have the faith needed to keep looking? Can he count on God to lead the way?

Mr. Bernsen has written an insightful story filled with characters that vibrate with emotion, with life. They are all so easy to picture as I read along and I found that I didn’t want to put this novel down until I reached the end.

I love the way that at the very heart of the story is the personal relationship with God that is needed to find the answers that are within each of us. This is modeled in such a strong way throughout the novel. It is this love that finally allows the answers to so many of James’ questions to be answered.

I hope you’re inspired to purchase Rust: The Novel and will return here and let me know what you think after you’ve read it.

I highly recommend Rust: The Novel by Corbin Bernsen and give it five cups of steaming hot of Room With Books coffee.

22387808-coffee-cup-with-space-for-text-vector-illustration

22387808-coffee-cup-with-space-for-text-vector-illustration22387808-coffee-cup-with-space-for-text-vector-illustration22387808-coffee-cup-with-space-for-text-vector-illustration22387808-coffee-cup-with-space-for-text-vector-illustrationDIVIDER

© September 14, 2015

Patricia, Room With Books

DIVIDER

 

About the Author

 

Corbin Bernsen

Corbin Bernsen most recently starred as Henry Spencer on USA Network’s hit original series Psych. First catapulted to stardom during the 1980s by the hit NBC TV series, L.A. Law, he was nominated twice for both an Emmy® Award and a Golden Globe Award®. Along the way, he hosted Saturday Night Live, and guest starred on Seinfeld and Star Trek to name a few notable television appearances. In the feature film arena, he starred in the comedy Hello Again, followed by other critically-acclaimed roles in Disorganized Crime, Wolfgang Peterson’s Shattered, The Great White Hype, and as the Cleveland Indians’ third baseman-turned-owner Roger Dorn in the extremely popular Major League series of films. With the film Rust, Bernsen shifted his focus to family-friendly movies and formed Home Theater Films. Bernsen’s latest film project, Christian Mingle, was released in January 2015 by Capitol. Bernsen lives in Los Angeles with his wife of 26 years, actress Amanda Pays, and their four sons.

Connect with the Author

Facebook ~~ Twitter

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Pelican Group

Pelican Book Group is a producer of Christ-centered fiction and is the first publisher to dedicate an entire new-adult romance imprint to promoting sexual purity. Headquartered in the Four Corners area of the United States, Pelican Book Group serves a global audience under its White Rose Publishing, Harbourlight, Watershed, and Pure Amore imprints. Founded in 2009, Pelican Book Group publishes numerous critically-acclaimed titles by award-winning authors from around the globe. Pelican Book Group was among the first to provide subscription-based e-books to the Christian marketplace.

 

3 Comments

  • Mary Preston September 15, 2015 at 10:54 pm

    Sounds most interesting.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  • Faye Gates September 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    Ooops…Forgot my email…jozywails@gmail.com I loved Major League.

  • Faye Gates September 15, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    I can’t wait to read this book. I am a big fan of Corbin’s.